Portable Toilet Seat Cover, Anyone?

A wedding in Cyprus and other šŸ’©

šŸ“ˆ One Thing I Learned This Week

Telling The Truth Isā€¦Uncomfortable

Iā€™m at a wedding this week in Cyprus (I know!) that is a little bit elite. The guest list is full of Bay Area techies, Harvard-Stanford-Ivy-League grads, and international all stars who have bounced around Europe, the Middle East and the US in pursuit of everything from being at the top of the corporate ladder to solving the refugee crisis. I felt nervous as I arrived at the first wedding event and I wondered - how would I answer the typical small talk - ā€œwhat do you do?ā€

When I got laid off earlier this year - I felt shame, failure, unworthiness. I knew it was coming - the startup I worked for wasnā€™t cash stable (among others things) and despite that - I still felt like it was my fault. My instinct was to hide this - it was to craft a different story for the public - a story in which ā€œit wasnā€™t a fit and I quit on my termsā€. But that was a fabrication, a blunt lie.

I got to Day 1 of this wedding and I couldnā€™t think of anything to say except the truth: I got laid off, and Iā€™m starting to build out a coaching and consulting practice and see where it takes me.

And I what was I met with? The same realness and vulnerability that I put out there. I had the best conversations, endless questions, and so many stories around ā€œthe eliteā€™sā€ own personal and professional ups and downs. I found that everybody could relate to a little bit of my story, and I could relate to a little bit of everybody elseā€™s.

So what have I learned? And what should you learn from this too? The truth - in all its discomfort - opens the door for your fellow conversationalists to be vulnerable too. And from there - these friends of friends became my own friends. Friends who over the course of 3 days of wedding hangs offered a peak into their own psychotic work stories, words of support, laughter, encouragement, resources, offers for endless introductions to grow my business or be a sounding board, and great company. I walked into this wedding with 3 friends and somehow through being raw and vulnerable, left with a community.

I challenge you - whatā€™s a truth you hold inside that might be worth letting out? That makes you feel ashamed or guilty or alone? And is there a person - maybe even a stranger like me - that it would feel good to say it out loud to? šŸ‘€

POV: attending a wedding in Cyprus šŸ˜»

āœļø Real Talk: Toilet Seat Covers Are Underrated

Iā€™ve been traveling for about 2 weeks and still have about 1 week to go. Lots of public toilets andā€¦you know, šŸ’© happens. Anyway, my friend had gag gifted me portable toilet seat covers from Daiso and I brought them along and theyā€™ve been really helpful. 10/10 would recommend.

you really just never know

Still got a bit of travel ahead of me so if youā€™re around / have cool people to meet - Iā€™d love any introductions!

  • Brussels Sep 7 - 10

  • Berlin Sep 11 - 14

  • London Sep 15 - 16

 šŸ”Ž Spotlight

As you may know, I run a monthly IRL storytelling series that elevates marginalized voices in the LA area. šŸ”„ Our next event is on September 23rd with the theme of ā€œfirstsā€ in Los Angeles. Come hang!

šŸ”„ Everybody Needs A Coach

As always, Book a discovery call to share whatā€™s on your mind about coaching. Iā€™d love to chat.

Thanks for reading, have a great weekend āœØ

Arshiya